Introducing Andi and her 3d printer

Hi there! This is my first post on this brand new blog of mine, welcome on board, dear Visitor! I’m a young architect/designer from Hungary who just finished with their studies and wants to start their own small business using her brand new and amazing desktop 3d printer! On this blog, I want to show you some of my work-in-progress design projects, and I also want to showcase some of my works which are already for sale. I believe in mass customization, and I think that we don’t need to spend thousands of euros for unique and personal objects since we have affordable 3d printing solutions for personal fabrication.

3d printed iPad Mini case

you can download here : https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:423373
photo by Andi

That’s why I started creating new forms and shaped using special 3d modeling tools and a 3d printer with fused deposition modeling technology. That mean, I can work with any kind of thermoplastic polymers like bio-plastic, ABS, Nylon or even with sandstone or wood – for a couple of cents per grams. This economic way of additive manufacturing makes the shard borders between designer and consumer blurry, allowing the creative people to create and fabricate their own stuff using free and open-source tools for digital design and numeric fabrication like 3d printing, laser cutting, CNC milling or lost-wax casting.

3d printed christmas ornament with support

3d printed with gigamax3d PLA filament
photo by Andi

I also want to share my 3d designs on different websites like Thingiverse or Objectshop, and you also can follow my works on my Instagram, Twitter or Facebook profile, and you also can connect me on my 3d printed jewelry tumblr page. There are so many great designers in the 3d printing industry, this kind of domestic design has created a global community, allowing people to share, modify and 3d print the customized designs of each other. That’s what I find really cool about domestic 3d printing: the philosophy of comparing the global design community with local production techniques. But that’s the industrial and economical potential of the layer-by-layer model building technology, for me, it’s important as well, but from an other point of view.

With these easy to use machines, I don’t need any expensive workstations to fabricate my own objects, I simple need to load some spools of cheap 3d printer filaments and start 3d printing. Of course, you need to design your stuff in 3d first, but that’s what I’ve learnt many years during my architectural studies. I had been using a lot of 3d and cad software for years when I found Rhinoceros, an easy-to-use all-round 3d modeling tool for designers in architecture, sculpture, industrial design, reverse engineering, jewelry and product simulation. I participated some free 3d modeling workshops in Budapest at Design Terminal, which have been really inspirational. I’ve started to learn Grasshopper, which a completely free generative 3d modeling tool specially developed for Rhino. It isn’t easy to operate, but fortunately I’ve found some really nice tutorials on a Hungarian 3d print and design blog, which I could start with.

I always start creating an object like I started with a concept of a house: at first, I need some inspiration. If you can access a desktop 3d printer in your home, you aren’t bound to geometrical boundaries like traditional model building techniques anymore. You can create what you can imagine, using mathematical algorithms to create beautiful and interesting forms which can function as unique 3d printed jewelry pieces or some breathtaking 3d printed home decoration stuff like 3d printed lampshades or vases for modern homes.

I have been inspired by so many amazing artists, on the first place, I have to mention Nervous System, which is a Boston based studio specialized for computational and generative design and digital fabrication. They developed their own web-based application which allows users to customize and tailor their own jewelry or product, which can be exported as an .stl file for 3d printing. Their works are truly breathtaking, Jesse and Jessica Rosenkrantz get their inspiration from natural forms and try to simulate the natural formfinding processes with generative algorithms. Another American designer – originally an architect – is Neri Oxman, who researches digital fabrication methods to create new design concept at the MIT Media Lab. If you are interested, check out her lectures at TED, you’ll understand what I’m talking about. Neri Oxman uses Stratasys’ multi-material 3d printing technology to work with composited, her works try to imitate natural processes in a computational way, which is a quite new design methodology. A lot of architects started to switch the scale and create generative 3d printed objects using architectural design techniques like parametric 3d modeling, computational form finding processes and genetic algorithms. I just fell in love with the voronoi tessellation techniques, which generate an organic, cellular-like structure on any surface. I’ve found some really nice voronoi 3d tutorials on the parametric | art 3d print blog, it’s in Hungarian but can use google translate to view it. Fortunately, I’m not bound to any expensive 3d software like Maya, 3DSudioMax or ArchiCAD, there is a plenty of free and open-source 3d modeling tools like Blender, Meshlab and Grasshopper which give you more freedom in design than any other professional CAD package.

Unfortunately, I hadn’t acces to 3d printers during my studies, although the department for architectural design had one, but it was really expensive to maintain because of the high material costs. It was a powder-based 3d printer from ZCorp which can create physical models from plaster which is rigid and easily breakable. Since I wanted to create something personal and werable (functional), I moved to plastics which can be flexible, cheap, easy to sand and finish the surface. Affordable desktop 3d printers are available in my country, there is company called GigamaX3D who has an open workshop and also sells and build 3d printers and 3d printer materials. I have bought my 3d printer from them, because they had a damaged demo-model for a reduced price so I could afford it from my money.  I also needed a 3D scanner, and of course a cheap one, to be able to capture objects from the real world and using them for my 3d print models. I devided to buy the David Laser Scanner which is an accurate 3d imaging setup which uses red laser light and a webcam to process 3d data from any surface. For small decoration jobs, a 3d printing pen (or shortly 3d pen) is useful as well, you can order one for 80 Euros and you can decorate your 3d printed artworks with unique and colorful ornaments using your 3d pen like a real pencil.

The pictures I have posted on this entry are sneak-peaks from forthcoming 3d printed projects, most of them haven’t been finished yet. The worst thing I hate about 3d printing is to remove the support structures from the finished prints. Since I don1t have a 3d printer with dual extruder, I can’t work with soluble support material, so I have to remove the supports manually. That’s a lot of painful work which cannot be automated. (It’s a shame.) There are some solvent which can smooth the surface finish of the prints, but honestly, I don’t wanna work with dangerous chemicals which can poison your organs. Usually I use a Dremel and fine sandpaper to get the wanted surface finish, sometimes I paint them with acrylic primer to get the perfect look.

#architecture #design #plan #sopron #3dmodelling #rhino #rhino3d #voronoi #grasshopper #archicad #photoshop lot of #work

A post shared by • andrea • shepherd • (@andreashepherd) on

I know that I’m not the only one, but there are only a few girls in the 3d print scene, formerly it used to be a business of the nerd guys and the hacker/maker community. But I hope that more and more girls will discover the amazing possibilities of owning a 3D printer and create their own custom 3d printed jewelry pieces and maybe some unique Christmas gifts with 3d printing. Have you heard about Google’s Made with Code project which allowed girls to create personal 3d printed jewelry pieces with their names on it using an executable code and the 3d print-on-demand service of Shapeways. In the near future, you”re going to find my designs available on Shapeways’ site, for a couple of bucks you can order some 3d printed versions of my generative jewelry designs.

I hope that my projects and works will inspire some other girls on the planet who are interested in creating some custom and unique stuff, different from the mainstream mass-produced jewelry concepts of the big fashion companies. And trust me, it won’t cost more, and you can work with environment-friendly 100% biodegradable materials to keep the plastic trash away from our blue planet. Feel free to ask me any questions, I hope I can answer them! Anyway, I’m not a hacker or a mechanical engineer, so don’t ask me questions like, there are a lot of 3d printing related technical blogs like 3dfizzr or GigamaX 3D Printing Blog which share useful tricks and technical tips for 3d printing enthusiasts. I only use this technology because it is capable to create new geometrical forms which couldn’t be produced with any other fabrication techniques. And the feeling is really hard to describe when you can hold your realized design in your hands within a couple of hours!

Reklámok

One comment

  1. Visszajelzés: The best 3d printer filaments for the best price, is it a fairy tale? | 3dfizz – a great 3D print community

Vélemény, hozzászólás?

